Tuesday, May 21, 2013 | 2:29:04 PM
Home | About Us | Privacy Policy | Editorial | Contact Us | Feedback | Anonymous Tip | Advertise | In The Press | RSS
Nose for news? Techgoss pays Rs. 1000 for 250-word news items, photos. Anonymity Guaranteed. Email Editor.     
IT ServicesComment | 

$2500 to redirect Tamilchristian
By Bala Shah

Regular readers of Techgoss are well aware that a large number of our articles are crowd sourced.  People send in tips, photos, story ideas and even articles. Many of our contributors have full times jobs in IT - ITES, and so prefer using a pseudonym. A Tipster (who prefers anonymity) wrote in giving an interesting insight into the cut and thrust of buying Shaadi site names


The online Indian matrimonial market is a multi billion Rupee business.  Indian wedding (aka Shaadi) sites attract every kind of Indian – from young professionals looking by themselves for a suitable life partner to parents looking for a suitable ‘Status’ family. 

And the Leader of the Indian matrimonial sites is Consim Info owned Bharatmatrimony.  It is credible and has a good track record of putting singles on the road to matrimonial bliss. Consim owns many other matrimonial sites.

Sedo, which sells websites, has published its weekly report which shows that Consim (which owns Bharatmatrimony) bought Tamilchristianmatrimony.com for $2500 in July, 2012.  But if you type Tamilchristianmatrimony it takes you to Consim owned ChristianMatrimony.  As the name ChristianMatrimony indicates, it is a website for Christians in India (and of Indian origin) to find a suitable life partner. Consim has spent $2500 buying a website name but its only purpose is to direct all traffic to Consim owned ChristianMatrimony.

So, what is the problem?

Interestingly, the domain tamilchristiansmatrimony (only difference is an extra s after Christian in the name) was registered by a small Tamil Nadu based Company Neyvelimatrimony which runs its own matrimonial site for Tamil Christians.  This website name was registered in March 2011.

Typosquatting relies on mistakes such as typographical errors made by Internet users when inputting a website address into a web browser. Should a user accidentally enter an incorrect website address, they may be led to an alternative website owned by a cybersquatter.  (Wikipedia definition)

Does the small company Neyvelimatrimony have any grounds of grievance against the internet giant Consim which owns Bharatmatrimony and ChristianMatrimony?  Or is this legitimate business practice to have a similarly named website with only difference being an‘s’? 

Or is it just a coincidence?


We love all our Tipsters!  Rs. 1250 has been couriered to our Tipster for this insightful Tip.


Thanks for the great Tip! Know something about such interesting things in the IT-BPO or online world?   Send us a detailed Tip

 

(Tipsters, Big thank you for all your tips and photos. We pay up to Rs. 5000 for exclusive photos of the Indian IT, BPO and KPO Sector.  Do you have a story to tell? If you need to speak to us in confidence or write for us, email us at techgoss[at]hotmail. Or use the Anonymous Tip form at the top of our website. Anonymity guaranteed. We pay Rs. 1000 – Rs. 1250 for 100 – 200 word snippets in the form of Tips. Unfortunately, we cannot use any tips which are not backed up by enough facts)


(8/9/2012)
Comments
Yasmin Ahmed at 8/17/2012 8:04:57 PM
:) Interesting one!
PrintE-MailDiscussDiggFacebookSaveWrite to Editor
Techgoss Team

Editor: DJ Varma
Email | MSN Messenger

Reporters:
Bala Shah,Nitin Paul,Yasmin Ahmed

Anonymous Tip: Email

Feedback Letters: Email


 
 
Copyright 2010 Techgoss.com
Created by 4CPLUS  
Best Viewed in resolution 1024 x 768 pixels